Showing posts with label Rule of the Day. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Rule of the Day. Show all posts

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Rule of the Day - Basic Versus Advanced

Rule of the Day 06/14/2011




Basic Versus Advanced - pg 11
Where rules apply to a specific model, they always override any contradicting basic rules.  For example, the basic rules state that a model must take Panic test under certain situations.  If, however, that model has a rule that makes it immune to Panic, then it does not test for Panic - the advanced rule takes precedence.

 The end of the basic rules can be found in a little "blurb box" in the bottom right hand corner of page 63 labeled THE FOUNDATION IS COMPLETE!


Basic Rules         Pages 1 - 63
Advanced Rules  Pages 64+

There was recently some discussion which prompted this on The Warhammer Forum about reforming a unit from victory, which was still in combat on 1 side, and turning a unit to face an impending flank charge - thus giving the current enemy a flank.  The question was "I had thought it wouldn't work because you can't move a model out of contact with the enemy, so if the command models are in contact they have to stay there and can't form the new front."

The command groups rules which force command models to always be in the front are on pg 92.

Combat Reform rules are on pg 55.

Combat reform would happen and the command would move to the front under the Advanced > Basic principle.

Cheers,
Domus

Friday, June 10, 2011

Rule of the Day - Ambushers

Rule of the Day - 06/10/2011
*Lewis - the Original Nerd Ambusher

Indirectly suggested by my good friend Jim Emerick, TO for the Midwest Rampage.

Ambushers - pg 79
A unit with the Ambushers rule does not deploy at the start of the battle.  Instead, from Turn 2 onwards, the controlling player rolls a dice at the start of the turn for each unit of his Ambushers that have yet to arrive.  On a 1 or 2, the Ambushers have been delayed - but you'll be able to roll for them again next turn.  On a 3 or more, the unit of Ambushers arrives, and will enter the board during the Remaining Moves sub-phase.  If the Ambushers do not turn up for the entire game, they are assumed to have got lost, and are treated as having fled the battle for the purposes of determing the victor.

Arriving Ambushers enter the battlefield from any point on any battlefield edge, and move on using the rules for reinforcements (see page 27).

*Note - Beastmen have their own special version of ambush in their book

This will apply though to any of the TK models with the "Entombed Beneath the Sands" special rule.

The big change for them from the previous book is that Ambushing is no longer optional.

Cheers!
Domus

Thursday, June 9, 2011

Rule of the Day - Sequencing

Rule of the Day - 06/09/2011


*The Fibonacci Sequence at work!

Sequencing - pg 10
Whilst every effort has been made to make sure that the sequencing of rules is utterly clear, occasionally you'll find that two or more rules are to be resolved at the same time - normally 'at the start of the Movement phase' or similar.  When this happens, and the wording is not explicit as to which rule is resolved first, then the player whose turn it is chooses the order.

There are numerous situations which can trigger these types of conflicts which would invoke sequencing.  My buddy Joe, of Pointhammered fame, recently asked me a question on this and a few other items.

Joe writes;
Hey Domus, I see your latest Rule of the Day is about challenges.

Our situation was Johnny's Gor Horde w/ Beastlord vs Treeman Ancient w/ Annoyance. Fear, Primal Fury, and Challenges always happen at the start of combat and we were dicing each turn whether the challenge happened first or the other two rolls, since it could make a difference if he could not use the General's Ld.

Now that I think about it, I think when the order is not clear the player's whose turn it is decides the order so on my turn his general slinks to the back then takes the unit Ld checks, on his turn he does the Ld checks and then slinks the general. Do you agree? Or do you think there is a strict hierarchy to the order?

If the General is in the back, I would argue that no units can use his Inspiring Presence for the rest of the turn according to the wording of the Refusal paragraph in the Challenges section. What do you think?

(This would be a good way to bust skavenslave blocks or other shit units that rely on the General's Ld)


My reply

Challenges, Fear, Primal Fury all happen at the start of the combat means "Sequencing" kicks in.

So on Johnnys turn, he would do all tests first (as that benefits him) and then refuse.
On joes turn - challenge first and put the dude in the back.

Pg 102 says his Ld. may not be used for ANY leadership tests that turn if he gets dropped in the back rank. (*though don't Skaven have 'lead from the rear' or was that the previous book only)


Cheers,
Domus


Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Rule of the Day - Monsters and Handlers

Rule of the Day - 06/08/2011


Maybe not that kind of monster that needs handling...  :-)

These rules are a bit unlcear, so I'm hoping to peel the onion a bit.


Monsters and Handlers - pg 73

The handlers aren't really a combat unit per se, so we ignore them for most gaming purposes, treating the monster itself as the extent of the unit.  {*this is THE MOST important sentence, and one I'll come back to}.  When a monster suffers an unsaved wound, roll a D6.  On a roll of 1-4 the monster suffers the wound as normal, but on a roll of 5-6 a handler model is removed instead.  Once all the handlers have been removed, the monster must take a Monster Reaction test just like a ridden monster that loses its rider.

In close combat, the handlers can direct their attacks against any enemy in base contact with their monster.  The handlers are otherwise assumed to have their hands too full controlling the monster to carry out any actions like shooting, or casting spells, etc.  In addition the handlers cannot be charged, attacked or otherwise affected separately from their monster - if they are found to be blocking movement or line of sight, the controlling player simply alters their position, just as you would for any other battlefield marker or counter.  If the monster is removed, so are its handlers.

Summation
Any wound is potentially transferred to a handler on a 5+.  {*only shooting wounds transferred in 7th}

Handlers are mostly ignored, they are not in the following cases
     -Close Combat.  They can't be attack but they can ALL attack.
     -When the monster is wounded, remove a handler instead on a 5+   

This leaves quite a few scenarios where handlers would otherwise affect the game but that first sentence will prevent them from having any effect on the following.
     -Panic Tests
     -Template Hits
     -Characteristic Tests - Excepting Leadership tests {*explicitly stated in the FAQ-which contradicts itself a bit}
     -Charges / Being charged
     -Line of Sight

Cheers,
Domus

Thursday, June 2, 2011

Rule of the Day - Flame Template (20mm / 40mm)

Rule of the Day 06/02/2011

A follow up to a previous post.  I have already created Gaming Aids for use with the 3" & 5 " templates.  See this previous blog entry.

I've long been meaning to finish up this flame template entry and finally made time last night.



I have tested these using the flame template I got from the Island of Blood plus a sheet from a GW customizable movement tray (20mm on 1 side, 25mm on the other). They are 99.5% accurate using that sheet as a 'template' under the template (if that makes any sense at all). There are a couple of close calls on the which are indicated with a range.  I would probably default to the lower value to be safe.

Cheers,
Domus

Wednesday, June 1, 2011

Rule of the Day - Refusing a Challenge

Rule of the Day - 06/01/2011


Bravely bold Sir Robin
Rode forth from Camelot.
He was not afraid to die,
Oh brave Sir Robin.
He was not at all afraid
To be killed in nasty ways.
Brave, brave, brave, brave Sir Robin.


Refusing a Challenge (BOO! HISS!) - pg 102

If no enemy character steps forward to meet the challenge, one of them must retire in ignominy.  This character is nominated by the challenger - though he may not nominate a character that could not have accepted the challenge, or a unit champion - champions can accept challenges, they do not have to.  The retiring character slinks off to the back ranks and is not allowed to attack that round - move the model into a rank where he's not in base contact with the enemy.  Another model will step up and fight in his place, just as if he'd been slain.  Furthermore, the model's Leadership cannot be used for any Leadership tests that take place that turn.

Once a challenge has been refused, the issuer can fight normally in that round of combat.

Nowhere to Run, Nowhere to Hide
A character cannot refuse a challenge if his model cannot be placed so that he is not in base contact with an enemy model - he can't evade his opponent and so must fight for his life.  This most commonly happens if a lone character is the subject of challenge, or if his unit is small and engaged on all fronts, so that every model in the unit is in base contact with an enemy.


Note - There is a huge change from 7th edition buried up above.  Champions can never be forced into the back ranks for declining a challenge.  Nice to keep that typical extra champion attack in the combat.



Cheers!
Domus

Friday, May 27, 2011

Rule of the Day - Plague Furnace


Rule of the Day - 05/27/2011


Inspired by Chris Walker from IWFB, I have decided to start occasionally including Army Specific rules. Chris had given me a tip right before ArdBoyz which made a huge difference in my game. The furnace only 'swings' on the skaven turn.

This Buds for you Chris!


The Skaven Plague Furnace - pg 48/49
  • Treated as a mount for the Plague Priest
  • Frenzy / Impact Hits (D6) / MR(2)
  • Furnace & Monks pushing it are unbreakable as long as Furnace still has 1 wound remaining
  • Treats Terrain in the same manner as chariots (FAQ)
  • Unit the furnace is joined to marches, charges and pursues normally as long as the unit has 10 models. For every model the unit drops below 10, thhe unit deducts 1" from the move. If the unit is reduced to 5 or leass models it cannot move.

Billowing Death - Skaven Shooting Phase Only
  • Can't make this attack if in Close Combat
  • Flame template that touches furnace base and in furnace front arc
  • Toughness Test or 1 Wound no Armor save (just like plague censer)

Enshrouded by Fog
  • At the start of any close combat, any unit touching the furnace suffers D6 automatic hits. Toughness test for each hit or 1 wound no armor save.

Wrecker Attack - Controlling Skaven Combat turn only
  • Always Strikes Last (updated in latest FAQ)
  • Artillery Dice worth of Strength 5 hits distributed as shooting with an enemy in base to base and in the front arc of the furnace.
  • Misfire rolls on Plague Furnace misfire chart

Happy Furnace Hunting!

Cheers,
Domus

Wednesday, May 25, 2011

Rule of the Day - Dispel Dice & Broken Concentration (Dispel)

Rule of the Day 05/25/2011

This one came up a couple of times in game at the Midwest Rampage 6 and I think I, and a few of my opponents, played it incorrectly.


Dispel - pg 35


Choose Number of Dispel Dice - pg 35
When dispelling, a Wizard can use any number of dispel dice. Unlike casting, there is no upper limit on the number of dice that can be used in a dispel attempt - though you must use at least one dice from the pool if you wish to attempt a dispel.

Dispel Value - pg 35
...skip to last pararagraph...

If the result on the dispel dice is less than the spell's casting result, the dispel attempt has failed. Furthermore, the Wizard is so preoccupied by his collapsing dispel that he is unable to attempt another later in the phase. Just as when casting a spell, a total natural dice score of 1 or 2 is always considered to be a failure, despite any modifiers. This is true regardless of bonuses, from any source. Note the army can always attempt to dispel, regardless of previous failures.

I'm sure I failed a dispel with my slann, as I think on it more, and dispelled again using his +4. Bad Domus...

Cheers,
Domus

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Rule of the Day - Moving Backwards / Sideways

Rule of the Day 05/11/2011

More rules I've personally been having a tough time remembering.

pg 26
Moving Backwards
Units can not only move forward, they can also move backwards. To represent this, a unit that moves backwards at half rate, i.e. it counts the distance moved as being double what it actually is.

Moving Sideways
To get a body of warriors to move to either flank is no small challenge, especially if you want to maintain a viable fighting formation (as you do). To represent this, a unit that moves sideways moves at half rate, i.e. it counts the distance moved as being double what it actually is.

Units MAY NOT mix forward, backward and/or sideways movement as part of the same move. Remember that units can only wheel when moving forwards.

Cheers,
Domus

Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Rule of the Day - Dividing to Conquer

Rule of the Day 05/10/2011

Been skimping lately on the Rules of the Day so I'm getting back to it now folks. One of the nice things added in 8th edition is a consistent way to deal with fractions.

Dividing to Conquer - pg 7
Sometimes you'll be called upon to dived the result of a dice roll, a characteristic or some other value. Where this happens, any fractions should always be rounded up.

Nice, neat and tidy rule telling us always how to deal with fractions. I'm a fan of consistent rules.

Cheers,
Domus

Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Rule of the Day - Reforming

Rule of the Day 05/03/2011

There are a number of times when units can reform. Some require LD tests, some apply break test modifiers, some require musicians, etc... It's a bit crazy to try and keep all straight. Here is what I see as a definitive list on reforming.

Reforming
Keeping the Centre point of the unit the same, arrange the unit into a new formation of as many ranks as you wish. Remember that none of the models in the unit can move more than twice their Movement rate.


**NOTE - The current BRB FAQ does not require the centre point of the unit to remain the same when making a combat reform. - edited 05/04/2011**

Normal Reform - pg 14
Sacrifice All Movement & Shooting

Swift Reform - pg 95
Musician Required
Leadership test required to reform
Happens during Remaining Moves
Unit Can't March but can shoot (-1 applies)
*unless it has a move or fire weapon obviously

Charged a Fleeing Enemy - pg 23
Must complete a charge against a fleeing enemy
Move into contact with the fleeing enemy and stop
Leadership test required to reform

Rallying a Fleeing Unit - pg 24
When Fleeing unit srally they immediately reform

WIPEOUT - pg 53
If your side completely wipes out the other you automatically restrain pursuit and may reform
*note certain situations may require you to overrun (Frenzy for example) which may negate this

Combat Reform
Reforming From Victory - pg 55
Your Unit Wins or Draws Combat but the enemy did not flee
It cannot be used to get a model out of base contact with the enemy
Can not be engaged on more than 1 facing

Reforming Amid Defeat - pg 55
Your Unit lost combat but did not flee
Leadership test required to reform - this is subject to any modifiers unless your unit is Steadfast/Stubborn/Unbreakable
Can not be engaged on more than 1 facing

Restrain Pursuit - pg 56
Enemy lost the break test & fled
Your unit passed test to restrain
*note certain situations may require you to pursue (Frenzy for example) which may negate this

Unit Types
Fast Cav - pg 68
Skirmishers - pg 77
Both types of units are allowed to reform as many times as it wishes during its move, even if it marches, provided that no model ends up moving a numbe rof inches higher than double its Movement rate.

Cheers,
Domus

Thursday, April 28, 2011

Rule of the Day - Read the FAQS

04/28/2011

Simple Rule of the day for the moment, I'm drafting a list for the next one about reforming. May hit the shelves later today still.

Before answering any rules questions, or 'knowing' the rules answer - Read the latest GW FAQ or wear your face-egg proudly!

I personally got recently 'bitten' by this where I made a devils advocate argument against a ruling. A quick read of the FAQ (mentioned by another person) immediately squashed my 'jukey' argument.

If you are playing in a tourney, have them on hand if you are going to argue that position.

Cheers!
Domus

Monday, April 25, 2011

Rule of the Day - Buildings (Garrison & Assault)

Rule of the Day 04/25/2011
Hi all - hope everyone enjoyed the holiday. I ate lots and enjoyed a rainy weekend at home.

All of the detailed rules about who can Garrison or Assault buildings though are found elsewhere in the book. Sadly, these weren't gathered in any singular place in the BRB so my hope is to gather them all here to help give us a fighting chance. This was suggested by Aussie over @ IWFB.

Garrisoning Buildings (pg 126 to start)

The following unit types can garrison buildings;
Note - Only 1 unit can ever garrison a single building at a time.
Infantry
Monstrous Infantry
War Beasts
Monstrous Beasts
Swarms
War Machines can also be deployed in buildings but they can never move except to pivot on the spot. (pg 109)


Assaulting Buildings

Notes - only a single unit may assault a building.
I'm finding it very interesting that it never states which units can, or can't assault a building in the building rules. The rules simply state "The only way to take an occupied building is by the bloody tactic of storming in with one of your units.". (other rules further qualify some units as being able to assault {or not assault} buildings.)

The following units may assault buildings but will only drive a unit out, they can never occupy the building themselves.
Cavalry -(pg. 83)
Monstrous Cavalry -(pg 83) *they follow the same rules as cav
Monsters - (pg 85)

It's worth noting then that the only units who may not assault buildings are Chariots.

Unique units aren't covered here at all as I don't have each of the books handy to go through, this would be a good one for a later date.

Hope this helps you get your building on!

Cheers,
Domus

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Rule of the Day - Inspiring Presence

04/21/2011

Another crazy busy day.. This rule of the day comes to you from a random opening of the book and was the first rule I saw.

pg 107
Providing that the General is not fleeing, all friendly units within 12" use his Leadership instead of their own. Remember that a General with the Large Target rule (or who is riding a Large Target) has his Inspiring Presence range increased to 18".

Nice trade-off for having a cannon target all over your back. :-)

Cheers,
Domus

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Rule of the Day - Ranking Skirmishers

Rule of the day 04/20/2011

Today's rule of the day comes from @amysrevenge via Twitter!

pg 77
If skirmishers declare a charge (or a charge reaction that does not involve fleeing) they immediately tighten their loose formation into a 'normal' formation before the charge distance is rolled. This happens 'for free' at the moment the unit declares the charge or is called upon to make a charge reaction. The unit immediately forms up in base contact around the center-most model in the front rank - if the front rank has an even number of models, and therefore two center-most models, the Skirmishers' controlling player can choose which of the two models the unit will form up around.

Big change from 6th / 7th edition. Skirmishers 'rank up' the second they Declare a charge or React (except flee) from a charge.

The only real tactical use I can see is that having an even number of models in the front rank gives you roughly the ability to shift favorably 1/2" to the left or right. Might be enough to cause / avoid a favorable overrun.

Note - Skirmishers NEVER get a rank bonus or can be steadfast. (pg 77)
Skirmishers ARE stubborn if the MAJORITY of its models are in a forest. (pg 119)

Note from @amysrevenge - Because they rank up before distances are rolled, the act of a skirmishing unit ranking up could potentially result in you failing a charge. Be mindful of how skirmishers will 'condense' before declaring that charge.

Cheers,
Domus

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Rule of the Day - Bound Spells

Rule of the Day 04/19/2011

This rule of the day comes from none other than THE PAUL VINTON of finer central IL.

pg. 37

Casting Bound Spells
A bound spell is cast just like an ordinary spell using dice from the power pool (the model may do so even if it is not a wizard). The required casting value is equal to the bond spell's power level. Note that bound spells never benefit from any casting modifiers that the user might have (Wizard Level, magic items, etc..). On the other hand, failing to cast a bound spell does not break a wizard's concentration, as using an item that contains a bound spell normally would not require anything more complex than uttering a single word of activation. (Anal'nathrak)

Other points of note from the rulebook (pg 37 still)
- Bound spells are always an unboosted version (if applicable)
- Bound spells can be dispelled like any other spells
- Bound Spells can be cast with Irresistible Force but never miscast.
*If the Bound Spell is contained with a magic item of some kind, the item crumbles to dust and cannot be used again during the game. Do not roll on the miscast table.
*If the bound spell is an innate ability - then the model simply cannot cast further bound spells during this phase. Do not roll on the miscast table.


Cheers,
Domus

Monday, April 18, 2011

Rule of the Day - Command Group Removal

This rule of the day comes from Erik Lindley over at the Brohammer Podcast.

Rule of the Day - 04/18/2011

In previous editions you could remove command models as you saw fit. 8th edition spells it out explicitly.

pg 93
Unless a champion is slain by a direct attack, then he must be the last rank and file model to be removed as a casualty.

pg 94 - under Last Stand
The only time a standard bearer can be removed as a casualty before the musician and other rank-and-file models is if the unit breaks from combat.

So there you have it, if your unit is down to only the 3 command models you must remove
1 - Musician
2 - Standard Bearer
3 - Champion

In that explicit order.

This is rarely an ideal removal order as you could keep the muso if you thought you might still tie or the Standard Bearer for that +1 CR. But we must play by the rules.

Cheers,
Domus

Sunday, April 17, 2011

Rules of the Day - Template Hits

First off - Sorry I missed yesterday folks. I was at the Ardboyz Round 1 tourney in Springfield, IL which ran most of the day for me and when I got him I was just exhausted.

I did manage to win all 3 of my games and come in first and bring home a box of corsairs and flagellants both for the DE army I will be building next.

Rule of the Day 04/17/2011 - Template Hits


This one isn't a rule so much but some diagrams I worked up re: Template hits.



# of Hits
20mm Unit - 5 x 5 - 21 models
40mm Unit - 3 x 3 - 9 models
20mm Unit - 5x5 - with 25x50 Char - 18 20mm + Char.

25mm unit - 5 x 5 - 15 Models
25 x 50mm Unit - 7 x 2 - 8 Models



# of Hits

20mm Unit - 7 x 7 - 45 models
40mm Unit - 4 x 4 - 15 models
20mm Unit - 7 x 7 - with 25x50 Char - 38-39 20mm + Char.

25mm unit - 6 x 6 - 30 Models
25 x 50mm Unit - 6 x 3 - 18 Models

I have tested these using the 3 templates I got from the Island of Blood plus a sheet from a GW customizable movement tray (20mm on 1 side, 25mm on the other). They are 99.5% accurate using that sheet as a 'template' under the template (if that makes any sense at all). There are a couple of close calls on the 20mm which might result in 1 less and I would be fine to default to 1 less on those personally.

Cheers,
Domus

Friday, April 15, 2011

Rule of the Day - Characteristics & You

Rule of the day 04/15/2011

Because I NEVER remember the rule on Characteristics tests I thought it was time it became a rule of the day.

pg. 10

To make a characteristic test, roll a D6 and compare the score to the relevant characteristic in the model's profile. If the score is equal to or less than the number in the profile, the test is passed with no ill effect. If the score is greater than the number in the model's profile, the test has been failed, and something nasty will occur, as detailed in the rule that called for the test. (*no kidding*)

When a model (or a unit) has more than one value for the same characteristic, as is the case with cavalry, for example, a characteristic test is always taken against the highest of the values.

6 on a D6 = Auto Fail
1 on aD6 = Auto Pass

Characteristic = 0 then Auto Fail

Hopefully this will help me remember, if not, I'll just get McClure to take a life wizard and start casting Dwellers on me more often.

Less than or equal to, to pass a Characteristic test.

Another important rule to remember is that characteristics go from 0 - 10. Never higher, never lower. pg 3 (I've had this come up with Time warp, extra attacks, etc...)

Happy Gaming!

Cheers,
Domus

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Rule of the Day - 1" Apart

Rule of the Day 04/14/2011

Hello everyone!

Today's RotD comes from Jake Murhpy from IWFB
and also an indirect nod to Erik Lindley & Tom McClure from Brohammer as they discussed it in an Episode of Brohammer (Episode 1 I believe).

pg 13

Whilst moving, a unit is not allowed to approach closer than 1" to another unit, friend or foe, or impassible terrain.

You'll notice that this rule does not apply to the charge moves discussed later. This is quite sensible, as the whole point of charging is to get a unit into base contact with an enemy. Occasionally, a unit will have approached within 1" of a unit it did not charge as the result of moving into contact with a unit it did charge. This is perfectly acceptable, although players may wish to nudge the units further apart to maintain a suitable degree of clarity.

Applications
1. Friendly units have to stay 1" apart. This rule is probably broken (unintentionally) more than any other rule in the game of Warhammer. Even if you put your units 1" apart, if they are parallel to each other, the minute you wheel one of those units you have an issue (unless of course you moved forward FIRST, getting more than 1" away). Lots of folks don't hold their opponents to these rules. I choose to hold myself to them and will encourage others to do the same.

2. This rule is disregarded when charging.

3. You have to stay 1" away from Impassible Terrain (which includes buildings). Assaulting or Garrisoning a building being exceptions to this rule also.

Hope this helps you get your game on!

Cheers,
Domus