Rule of the Day 04/11/2011
Suggested by Sandals @ The Ogre Stronghold
and Jim Emerick - T.O. for The Midwest Rampage
pg 54 + Current BRB FAQ
If a defeated unit has more ranks than its enemy, it takes its Break test without applying the difference in the combat result scores.
Simply put, a unit is considered to be steadfast if it has more ranks than its enemy. As with calculating extra ranks for the purposes of combat resolution, the ranks have to be five or more models wide for the unit to be treated as being steadfast.
*skipping flavor text*
It should be noted that a unit does not lose its steadfast status for being disrupted. A flank charge might be able to disrupt a unit, but it can't prevent the warriors in that unit realising they outnumber the foe.
Unlike calculating extra ranks, there is no exception stated for ranks after the fighting rank. (pg 52)
In game terms this means - A unit of 15 archers deployed in a line is charged in the front by a dragonrider. The dragonrider causes 7 wounds, the archers none. The unit is now 8 models vs. the dragonrider. Because there is 1 rank (the fighting rank IS still a rank and there is NO exception for steadfast) the unit will be steadfast vs. the dragonrider.
Disrupted Units still count ranks for Steadfast.
Big tarpit units can take flank / rear charges and still be steadfast allowing you to get units into the flank / rear of that enemy.